Blog

Blog

Rapid Isothermal Amplification for the Buccal Detection SARS-CoV-2

06/22/2021 News , Publications 0 77

Rapid Isothermal Amplification for the Buccal Detection

SARS-CoV-2 in the Context of Out-Patient COVID-19 Screening

Amar Bouam 1,2, Jean-Jacques Vincent 3, Elisabeth Le Glass 3, Lionel Almeras 4,5 , Pierre-Yves Levy 3,

Hervé Tissot-Dupont 1,3, Jean-Christophe Lagier 1,3, Pierre-Edward Fournier 3,4, Didier Raoult 1,3

and Michel Drancourt 1,3,*

1 Aix-Marseille-Université, IRD, MEPHI, IHU Méditerranée Infection, 13005 Marseille, France; amarbouam@yahoo.fr (A.B.); herve.tissot-dupont@mediterranee-infection.com (H.T.-D.); jean-christophe.lagier@ap-hm.fr (J.-C.L.); didier.raoult@gmail.com (D.R.)

2 POCRAMé, 13005 Marseille, France

3 IHU Méditerranée Infection, 13005 Marseille, France; jean-jacques.vincent@ap-hm.fr (J.-J.V.); elisabeth.leglass@gmail.com (E.L.G.); pylevy@wanadoo.fr (P.-Y.L.); pierre-edouard.fournier@univ-amu.fr (P.-E.F.)

4 Aix-Marseille-Université, IRD, VITROME, IHU Méditerranée Infection, 13005 Marseille, France; almeras.lionel@gmail.com

5 Unité Parasitologie et Entomologie, Département Microbiologie et Maladies Infectieuses, Institut de Recherche Biomédicale des Armées, 13005 Marseille, France

* Correspondence: michel.drancourt@univ-amu.fr Abstract: A commercially available isothermal amplific

Keywords: SARS-CoV-2; COVID-19; point of care; diagnosis; saliva; isothermal amplification

Abstract:

A commercially available isothermal amplification of SARS-CoV-2 RNA was applied to selfcollected saliva samples using dry dental cotton rolls, which were held in the mouth for two minutes. Of 212 tests, isothermal amplification yielded three (0.14%) invalid results, 120 (56.6%) positive results and 89 (42%) negative results. Compared to reference RT-PCR assays routinely performed simultaneously on nasopharyngeal swabs, excluding the three invalid isothermal amplification assays and one RT-PCR invalid assay, these figures indicated that 119/123 (96.7%) samples were positive in both methods and 85/85 samples were negative in both methods. Four positive buccal swabs which were missed by the isothermal amplification, exhibited Ct values of 26–34 in reference RT-PCR assays. Positive isothermal amplification detection was achieved in less than 10 min. Supervision of the self-sampling procedure was key to achieve these performances. These data support the proposal to use the protocol reported in this paper, including supervised buccal self-sampling, to screen people suspected of having COVID-19 at the point of care.

To read the rest of the scientific article: 

JCM | Free Full-Text | Rapid Isothermal Amplification for the Buccal Detection SARS-CoV-2 in the Context of Out-Patient COVID-19 Screening (mdpi.com)

Comment